REVIEW: Does the Weeknd's StarboyLive up to Expectations?

11/28/2016 by Michaela P. Shelton

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

As if Thanksgiving wasn’t enough to look forward to, The Weeknd released his third studio album, Starboy. I loved the Beauty Behind the Madness (2015) album, so I had very high expectations for Starboy. Unfortunately, this album was not as good as I expected. First off, the first single “Starboy” isn’t that great in my opinion. I sing along when it comes on the radio, but I think it just grew on me to be honest. Even though I don’t like “Starboy”, I thought okay there are 18 tracks, maybe this is the only bad one. However, I was wrong.

The second track on the album, “Party Monster” is really good. The suspenseful beat drops and The Weeknd delivers an unforgettable song filled with auto tone and repetition. I usually hate when artists use auto tone, but the way the auto tone complements the beat is just perfect. Hearing this catchy track gave me hope for the rest of the album.

The next couple tracks were all trash to me. The Weeknd is extremely talented but I don’t understand why he keeps trying to make songs to fit every genre. Track number six is by far the worst song I have ever heard by him. The lyrics, beat and everything just do not work. If you haven’t listened to the album yet, skip “Secrets”, because he just didn’t deliver.

“True Colors”, is a romantic slow jam that exemplifies true RnB. The song is about a woman hiding things from her man and him finding out the truth through the grapevine. The song discusses monogamy and a man respecting a woman for being honest about her past and present. In this track, we see an example of The Weeknd’s true vocal range. The simple repetitious chorus is everything!

“Stargirl Interlude” featuring Lana Del Rey, was really good. Although the song is only like two minutes, the chemistry on the track is perfect. Reminiscing about The Weeknd and Lana Del Ray’s flawless collaboration on the song “Prisoner”, I knew this track would be good.

The Weeknd has few features on his album, but his choice to feature Kendrick Lamar was a great idea. Between The Weeknd hitting high notes and Kendrick’s fire verse, you can’t help but to put “Sidewalk” on repeat. Although I have mentioned some good songs, “Die For You” is my favorite for sure. I was so infatuated with this track that I decided to do my research and figure out more information. Through research I discovered that this track is about The Weeknds relationship with his ex-girlfriend Bella Hadid. They recently broke up and The Weeknd told Zane Lowe in an interview that the song was finished a week before the album’s release. Knowing this background information makes me really appreciate this song and its raw emotion. You can tell that he means every line he sings, which is why it is my favorite song on the album.

Overall this album was okay. It isn’t the worst album I have heard, but it is definitely not going to be on my playlist.  The five songs I discussed are seriously the only good ones in my opinion. Five songs being good out of 18 is all bad. But I did see The Weeknd post on Instagram that the Starboy album is #1 in 80 countries, so kudos to him! I have always been a fan, so I want him to get recognized for his talent.​


​Read more at Michaela Shelton's blog​​

© 2020 CSUITEMUSIC. All rights reserved.