July 5th, 2018 | by Sam Chavarria

The players of the NBA have scrupulously studied sequences scattered throughout the basketball history books which allow them to succeed and as of late – surpass. The legends that the game of basketball nursed over the years have showcased an unapologetic standard of the game. Show up and show out, ball hard.

Years go by, banners and trophies are being raised, and teams are solidifying their place in NBA lore. The Boston Celtics of the 1960s only lost the 1967 championship. Yes. They were that dominant. Bill Russell, a major component of that team, has people arguing that he is the best player that the game has ever seen and not Michael Jordan. The Los Angeles Lakers are right behind Boston with a total of sixteen championships, the Celtics having seventeen. For the longest time the NBA audience viewed these two teams as the gatekeepers of the Larry O’Brien trophy, everyone thought there was no way any single team could catch up to these two.

The Chicago Bulls are tied for the third most championships for a single team and rightfully so. Michael Jeffrey Jordan. Jordan provided Chicago with all their championship success, winning six out of six and instantaneously securing their spot as one of the great NBA dynasties.

That other team tied with Chicago? The Golden State Warriors. This recent 2018 NBA season, the Warriors seized their sixth NBA championship as a team. With the exception of Stephen Curry just turning thirty, Kevin Durant, Klay Thompson, and Draymond Green are all under the age of thirty. Barring any trades or injuries, this translates to long-term success for this team, for years to come. Draymond Green already covets a Defensive Player of the Year award and known throughout the league for his defensive prowess. Klay Thompson is one of the greatest shooters the game has ever seen and brings it on the defensive side as well, regarded as the best two-way guard in the NBA. And Kevin Durant? If you haven’t been following the NBA since the arrival of Kevin Durant in the 2007-2008 NBA season, let me give you some of his accomplishments: 2008 Rookie of the Year, 2010 FIBA World Championship MVP, 2x NBA Champion, 2x NBA Finals MVP, 4x NBA Scoring Champion (led the league in points per game), and the 2014 NBA Most Valuable Player. These are just some of the accolades Durant deserved throughout his career and still has a long journey ahead of him.

The difference between this team and the others is the culmination of talent and how the discipline and fundamentality permeate in the locker room. Steve Kerr, a 5x NBA Champion in his own right and 3x NBA Champion as a Coach, is a symbol of gold standard to these players. Kerr has played for Phil Jackson and Gregg Popovich, two of the greatest minds in the NBA that have ever touched pen to clipboard. In an interview, Kerr stated that he knew he wanted to be a head coach in the league someday. He assumed with his skills and abilities he wouldn’t last that long as a player. So every since he had the chance, Kerr wrote and took notes vigorously and diligently. He learned from the best. When it came time for Kerr to be a General Manager with the Phoenix Suns, he took some of the lessons he learned and applied them. As time went on, Phoenix and Kerr had their differences and went their separate ways. He broadcasted for a while and then had the chance to coach these young Warriors. Kerr jumped at the chance and the rest is history.

From the GM, Bob Meyers, to the owners, Joe Lacob and Peter Guber, a high standard is portrayed by everyone. The whole organization breeds excellence and the fans play a part as well. This Golden Dynasty has the potential to become something great – something that people will be talking about for years to come. The Golden Standard has begun.

Sam Chavarria is a Sports Blogger.

For more from Sam Chavarria, follow him on

Instagram @Sam.Chavarria.


  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2020 CSUITEMUSIC. All rights reserved.